Prinicipal of the Year

Cabarrus County Schools photo

Jennifer Brinson, principal at Wolf Meadow Elementary School, has been selected as the 2019-20 Cabarrus County Schools Principal of the Year in a program sponsored by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction and Wells Fargo.

She was surprised with an announcement during a Wolf Meadow Elementary School staff meeting Wednesday, Oct. 9.

Brinson joined Cabarrus County Schools in 1996 as an elementary teacher at Winecoff Elementary.

During her tenure with Cabarrus County Schools, she has served in a variety of roles including teacher, lead teacher, instructional specialist, assistant principal of instruction, and principal. Brinson moved to Wolf Meadow Elementary as assistant principal of instruction in 2013 and was named principal at Wolf Meadow Elementary in 2016.

She graduated with a dual bachelor’s degree from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte in early childhood development and elementary education. She also earned a master’s degree in educational leadership from Western Governor’s University. Previously, Brinson was named the Cabarrus County Schools Assistant Principal of the Year.

Brinson will now compete with other principals across the state for North Carolina Principal of the Year. After the state selection process is completed, one principal will be selected as the 2020 Wells Fargo Principal of the Year. CCS principals nominate among their peers. A selection panel comprised of CCS district administrators interview finalists, and a winner is selected.

Each regional Wells Fargo Principal of the Year receives a $1,000 cash award for his or her school and $1,000 cash award for personal use. The 2020 Wells Fargo Principal of the Year receives $3,000 for his or her school and $3,000 for his or her personal use.

Regional award recipients will be selected by February, and the state-level winner will be announced in the spring at a special luncheon in Raleigh.

Recommended for you