Mount Pleasant football photo

Mount Pleasant's Blake Thomas (52) gives teammate Sawyer Osborne (2) a lift during a celebration after a big play. Thomas and Osborne both were first-team selections on the 2019 All-Rocky River 2A/3A Conference Football Team.

CONCORD – Mount Pleasant had seven members of its football team honored when the 2019 All-Rocky River 2A/3A Team was announced this week.

The Tigers represented on the 35-player all-conference squad are senior lineman Blake Thomas, senior lineman Lawson Furr, junior running back Dalton Miller, junior wide receiver/defensive back Sawyer Osborne, junior tight end/defensive end Jase Yount, junior lineman Carson Furr and sophomore lineman Jacob Suggs.

After winning the conference for the previous two seasons, Mount Pleasant (4-8 overall) finished second in the Rocky River 2A/3A with a 2-2 league mark in 2019. The Tigers rallied to win their last two regular-season games and qualify for the playoffs, where they suffered a first-round loss to Salisbury.

Mount Pleasant also had four players receive honorable mention from the conference: quarterback Ryan Tyson, defensive back/quarterback Shane Reigel, lineman Manny Solis and wide receiver/linebacker Jakob Craver.

Anson, which won the conference championship with a 4-0 record, garnered most of the Rocky River’s top individual awards.

Anson running back Dequan Sturdivant was named the Rocky River Offensive Player of the Year, while teammate Rasheed Burns was chosen as the Defensive Player of the Year. In addition, Bearcats mentor Ralph Jackson is the Coach of the Year.

Forest Hills’ John Breeden is the Rocky River Special Teams Player of the Year.

Recommended for you