During Tuesday night baseball action, at Central Cabarrus High school,, Harrisburg,, North Carolina,, Central Cabarrus had a neutral tournament game against Concord. Evan McGee (3) throwing from the stretch. Concord holds off a late rally to win 4-3.

Central Cabarrus baseball player Evan McGee

CONCORD – It was an uber-successful spring on the diamonds for Central Cabarrus High School, particularly when it came to receiving postseason awards.

This week, the South Piedmont 3A Conference announced its end-of-the-year award recipients, and they were dominated by the Vikings.

06-09 SAM YELTON MUG.jpg

For starters, the league’s 2019 Pitcher of the Year for baseball was Central Cabarrus senior Evan McGee. Also, the Vikings’ sophomore center fielder, Sam Yelton, was picked as the SPC Baseball Player of the Year.

Central Cabarrus’ Jack Swan joined Yelton and McGee on the all-conference team. Northwest Cabarrus’ Joe Hubbard was named Coach of the Year.

In softball, on the heels of reaching the Class 3A state championship series, Central Cabarrus swept the individual awards.

Riley Tucker

Central Cabarrus softball player Riley Tucker

Vikings senior infielder Riley Tucker was named the SPC Softball Player of the Year, and precocious freshman Brantleigh Parrott is the SPC Pitcher of the Year.

Meanwhile, Central Cabarrus coach Charlie Blackwelder was bestowed the title of SPC Coach of the Year after helping the Vikings repeat as the league regular-season and tournament champions.

Brantleigh Parrott

Central Cabarrus softball player Brantleigh Parrott

Central Cabarrus senior Destiny Thornton and freshman Lacie Coubal also made the all-conference softball team.

The rest of the All-SPC softball squad was A.L. Brown’s Tali Hagler, Maddie Daniels, Lauren Ritchie and Kaylyn Belfield; Cox Mill’s Cassidy Wall, Kayla Smith and Claudia Riddle; Northwest Cabarrus’ Taylor Frye and Kayden Monk; Jay M. Robinson’s Morgan Crowe, Devon LeMasters, Gracie Saunders and Deanna Waddell; and Concord’s Sharla Kirkpatrick and Caitlyn Gable.

Rounding out the all-conference baseball team were Cox Mill’s Cole Stocker, Zach Zedalis, Chandler Riley, Cole Oehler, Nick Pratico and Cam Lowke; Northwest’s Cole Pletcher, Caden Grider and Michael Gracer; Jay M. Robinson’s Austin Dayvault, Tyler Grady, Luke Nelson and Collin Auten; A.L. Brown’s Austin Lowery; and Concord’s Maven Parker.


Cox Mill tied for the SPC championship but swept the league’s top awards in girls soccer, as Hannah Dunn was named the 2019 Player of the Year and Adam Henry the Coach of the Year.

During Tuesday night girls high school soccer action, at Cox Mill field, Concord, North Carolina, Cox Mill Girls handed the Northwest Trojans 7-1 for their first loss of the season. Hannah Dunn (2) goes for the goal.

Cox Mill girls soccer player Hannah Dunn 

The rest of the all-conference squad was Cox Mill’s Dunn, Reagan Cullen, Lindsay Ruf, Naomi Fountain, McKinley Meeks and Jill Ryan; Northwest Cabarrus’ Kyleigh Von Klahr, Keely Jackson and Megan Clark; Concord’s Isabelle Foley, Julia Patrum, Gracie Adkins and Kiki Haynes; Central Cabarrus’ Kylie Morin; and A.L. Brown’s Jillian Brim and Natalie Capone.


After leading the Cox Mill boys tennis team to the dual-team state semifinals in 3A, Grant Perry was chosen as the SPC Player of the Year.

Concord’s Pam Beecher guided the Spiders to second place in the SPC and was named Coach of the Year.


Cox Mill senior boys tennis player Grant Perry

The complete all- conference team was Cox Mill’s Perry, Karthik Nemani, Shlok Singh, CJ Merkel, Frank Molteni and Rithvik Chelasani; Concord’s George Griffin, Eric Spaugh, Michael Cicci and Aditya Senthil; Jay M. Robinson’s Tristan Moore and Jason Spokas; and Central Cabarrus’ Connor Roman and Elvin Liu.


En route to becoming one of the best boys golfers in the state, Jay M. Robinson senior Riley Smith easily proved he was the best in the SPC, as the Catawba College signee named Golfer of the Year honors.

Riley Smith

Jay M. Robinson golfer Riley Smith

Smith also won a regional title and finished tied for ninth in the Class 3A state tournament.

Cox Mill’s Andrew Anker, who led the Chargers to the league title, is the SPC Coach of the Year.

Cox Mill led the way with three golfers on the all-conference team: Andrew Crawford, Dakota Oman and Kenny Walter; Also Concord’s Chris Malone, Jackson Neal and Nick Blackburn were All-SPC choices.


The Cox Mill girls track and field squad dominated the 2019 All-SPC team, as the league-champion Chargers had 11 honorees.

Not surprisingly Cox Mill also won each of the top four individual awards.

The Chargers’ senior Tracey Manigault, a Charlotte 49ers signee, is the Sprinter of the Year. Jessie Connick is the Distance Runner of the Year, Jasmine Greene is the Field Athlete of the Year, and Jesse Smith is the Coach of the Year.

Tracey Manigault

Cox Mill girls track star Tracey Manigault

Cox Mill’s 11 all-conference athletes are Manigault, Greene, Connick, T’Kyle Pressley, Joy Jackson, Amanda Marais, Calista Foret, Natalie Williams, Kassiah Prince, Julia Holdren and Zoe Saunders.

The rest of the all-conference team is Jay M. Robinson’s Haley Dale, Amaya Barnette, Joselyn Council, Trinity Beathea, Madison Walker and Riche Putnam; Northwest Cabarrus’ Chaunesse Barringer and Makayla Anderson; and Concord’s Aaliyah Carson and Sherray Parker.


Nine members of the A.L. Brown boys track and field team earned spots on the 2019 all-conference team, headlined by the league’s top sprinter and coach.

A.L. Brown Senior Jalen Neal is the SPC Sprinter of the Year, while the Wonders’ Gerald Hefner is Coach of the Year.

Cox Mill’s Alex Garcia is the Distance Runner of the Year, and Northwest Cabarrus senior Ricco Sastoque is the Field Athlete of the Year.

Ricco Sastoque

Northwest Cabarrus track standout Ricco Sastoque

The other Wonders to make the all-conference list with Neal are two-time state champion Joshua Parks, Adonnance Brown, Kevin Stegall, Marcus Chapman, Dezmond Adams, Kam Williams, Tanner Roth and Onesimo Rosas.

Northwest Cabarrus had seven athletes on the all-conference team: Sastoque, Andre Hill, Matthew Phillips, Grayson Taylor, Devin Waters, Jaden Watson and Jaylen Baker.

Other all-conference performers were Jay M. Robinson’s Dylan Tucker, Kendrick Hargrove, Jermaine Davis and Bryson Mason; and Concord’s Clint Bost.

Recommended for you