Election filing begins

Cabarrus Elections Director Carol Soles, left, talks with N.C. House candidate Gail Young as filing began at noon Monday for the 2020 elections. Other candidates wait along the front row: Cabarrus Commissioner Steve Morris, Cabarrus Register of Deeds Wayne Nixon, N.C. Sen. Paul Newton, Cabarrus school board candidate Tim Furr and Cabarrus Commissioner candidate Pat Horton. Several observers and suipporters were also present. Mark Plemmons/Independent Tribune

Candidates began filing the 2020 elections at noon Monday in Cabarrus County and across North Carolina.

State house, state senate, county commissioners, register of deeds and school board are among the races to be contested.

The filing period continues through Friday, Dec. 20, at noon. The primary elections will be March 3, 2020 and the general elections Nov. 3, 2020.

Congressional races will be able to file following a last minute court decision that allows the newly-drawn districts to be used.

Several candidates filed Monday.

N.C. House District 83

Gail Young, a Democrat, Jay White, a Republican and incumbent Rep. Larry Pittman, also a Republican, are running in the N.C. House District 83 race.

Gail Young

Gail Young

Jay White

Jay White

Larry Pittman

Larry Pitman

N.C. House District 82

Aimy Steele, a Democrat, is running for the District 82 seat, which is currently held by long-time Rep. Linda Johnson, a Republican.

Aimy Steele

Aimy Steele

N.C. House District 67

Rep. Wayne Sasser, a Republican from Stanly County, filed for re-election Monday.

N.C. Rep. Wayne Sasser

Rep. Wayne Sasser, R-Stanly County

N.C. Senate District 36

State Sen. Paul Newton, a Republican from Mount Pleasant, filed for re-election Monday.

Paul Newton

Paul Newton

Horton and Morris

Candidates Pat K. Horton and Steve Morris, center, are surrounding by supporters with campaign signs outside the Cabarrus Board of Elections. Michael A. Anderson Photography

Cabarrus County Commissioners

Commission Chair Steve Morris, a Republican, filed for re-election. Challengers Pat Horton and Barbara Strang, both Republicans filed Monday. The other commission seat up for election is currently held by Liz Poole, also a Republican.

Steve Morris

Cabarrus Commission Chair Steve Morris talks with supporters at the Cabarrus Board of Elections Monday. Michael A. Anderson Photography

Pat Horton

Pat Horton, right, talks with a supporter at the Cabarrus Board of Elections Monday. Michael A. Anderson Photography

Barbara Strang

Barbara Strang

Cabarrus Register of Deeds

Register of Deeds Wayne Nixon, a Republican, filed for re-election Monday.

Election filing

Elections director Carol Soles works with Cabarrus Register of Deeds Wayne Nixon as he files for re-election Monday at the Cabarrus County Board of Elections. Mark Plemmons/Independent Tribune

Kannapolis City Schools Board of Education

All three incumbents up for re-election in 2020 filed Monday.

In Area 1 (Cabarrus portion), Kevin Clark and Anita Parker filed.

Anita Parker

Anita Parker

Kevin Clark

Kevin Clark

Board Chair Todd Adams filed in Area 2 (Rowan portion).

Todd Adams

Todd Adams is a member of the Kannapolis City Schools Board of Education.

This non-partisan race will be decided in the primary and the terms begin in May.

Cabarrus County Board of Education

Former school board member Tim Furr filed Monday along with Catherine Bonds Moore.

The incumbents in this non-partisan race are David Harrison, Chair Cindy Fertenbaugh, Barry Shoemaker and Rob Walters.

District Court Judge 19-A

Judge Nathaniel Knust filed for re-election in the local judicial race.

Judicial races in the past have been non-partisan but will be partisan in 2020. Knust is a Republican.

Nathaniel Knust

Nathaniel Knust

Get today’s top stories right in your inbox. Sign up for our daily newsletter.

Recommended for you