Duke Energy Citizenship Award

Scott Padgett, former Concord mayor, receives the Duke Energy Citizenship and Service Award from Randy Welch, Duke Energy.

CONCORD- The Cabarrus Regional Chamber of Commerce held their sold-out 2017 Annual Meeting on Friday, Feb. 9 at Great Wolf Lodge in Concord, as a celebration recognizing top businesses in Cabarrus County and the turning of the gavel for the chairman of the board.

Piedmont Asphalt Paving Company, Inc. President Joe Horton served as the 2017 Chair of the Cabarrus Regional Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. Under his leadership, the chamber successfully advocated for the local passage of the Brunch Bill, the continued opening of Lake Concord Road Bridge during the I-85 widening project, continued support for workforce development and Career Technical Education programs and internships and worked against sales tax redistribution outside of Cabarrus County. In addition to the chamber’s public policy work, the chamber:

Welcomed over 325 new teachers to Cabarrus County and Kannapolis City Schools

- Thanked 350 first responders with an appreciation lunch on behalf of chamber members

- Challenged and inspired 250 women at their Women in Business event

- Welcomed 72 new companies and organizations as new chamber members

- Celebrated 37 ribbon cuttings

- Continued small and large group networking events

Horton was not able to attend the event due to illness, but said in a statement that was read, “It has been a pleasure to serve as your chairman of the board for our chamber. It has been fulfilling to watch our board and staff grow and not be afraid to create plans that might not be normal in the chamber industry. It is you, our members, which the staff puts first. It is very satisfying to know that this chamber is financially sustainable and poised to meet the economic opportunities and growth that we are now experiencing. Through all of these challenges, the chamber will stand beside you to educate, advocate and be your partner. It is rewarding to know that the value of our membership has increased tremendously these past few years.”

The 2018 Chair of the Board of Directors is Atrium Health Vice President Bill Hubbard. In accepting the gavel, Hubbard reflected on 2017’s success and committed to continuing to serve members and grow membership.

Two new programs, Cab Co Yo Pros, networking and personal development for young professionals under 40, and Women Leading Cabarrus, quarterly networking lunches for women, are ways the chamber is hoping to make deeper connections with members.

“The chamber takes its role as your legislative voice very seriously. We will continue to do our best to represent you in the areas that affect your business the most. We know and understand the burdens of rising healthcare premiums. We know government over-regulation creates additional work, labor and costs. We understand that continued investment in infrastructure and roads is vital to support our growth. Our Advocacy Committee is committed to working locally, regionally, state-wide and nationally for our members to help shape legislation that keeps Cabarrus County business friendly,” said Hubbard.

Each year, the chamber recognizes five businesses and an individual with awards. Here are the nominees and winners for 2017:

F&M Bank Small Business of the Year Award:

Nominees: Cabarrus Magazine, Doughgirls Catering, TEAM HONEYCUTT – Allen Tate Realtors and Trey Siner Insurance Group

Winner: TEAM HONEYCUTT – Allen Tate Realtors

NorthState Technology Solutions New Business of the Year Award:

Nominees: DeAnna Ford, CPA and Twenty-Six Acres Brewing Company

Winner: DeAnna Ford, CPA

Hilbish Ford Nonprofit of the Year Award:

Nominees: Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Carolinas, Boy Scouts of America Central North Carolina Council, Cabarrus Arts Council, Capstone Climbing and Adventure, Cooperative Christian Ministries, Concord Downtown Development Corporation, Junior Charity League of Concord and Meals on Wheels

Winner: Cooperative Christian Ministry

Environmental Excellence and Sustainability Award:

Winner: Vulcan Materials

DeAnna Ford, CPA’s Ambassador of the Year Award: (Winner accumulates the most points by helping with and attending chamber events)

Winner: Warren Williams, TurningPoint Business Coaching

Duke Energy Citizenship and Service Award

Winner: J. Scott Padgett

The annual meeting was sponsored by Corporate Sponsors: Atrium Health, Ben Mynatt Family of Dealerships, First Citizens Bank, Hilbish Ford, S&D Coffee and Tea and Wells Fargo. Associate Sponsors were ACN, Charlotte Motor Speedway, Pinnacle Financial Partners and Potter & Company, P.A.

Recommended for you