A.L. Brown’s Evelyn Carrasquillo was named the Kannapolis City Schools Teacher of the Year during a breakfast held at Kannapolis City Hall on Wednesday, May 1.

Nicoel Morgan of Fred L. Wilson Elementary was named the system's runner-up Teacher of the Year. She received $500 from Mark III Employee Benefits.

The remaining nominees received $100 from Mark III:

- Natalie Cook, Jackson Park Elementary School

- Kim Dean, G.W. Carver Elementary School

- Leslie Fitzpatrick, Kannapolis Middle School

- Danielle Mangouri, Shady Brook Elementary School

- Travis Rodgers, Woodrow Wilson Elementary School

- Natasha Sifford, Forest Park Elementary School